Fort Willem


Fort Willem was built in 1801 by the British as Fort Trigge, presumably named after the person ordering its construction. Expanded reach of the newest types of cannons allowed the fort to be placed higher up the hill compared to nearby , whilst still controlling and with its strategic supplies and natural harbor.


Revived as “Fort Willem”, named after the Dutch king, it functioned until 1846. After this, the fortress deteriorated and is now predominantly a target for experienced . Only some walls and part of a watchtower remain around a modern television tower.


If you would like to visit the scarce remains of this once towering bulwark, follow EPIC’s special Fort Willem Hiking Trail, unique views over Little Bay and Great Bay guaranteed!


Where to find Fort Willem


The remains of Fort William are located in the Little Bay Area of St Maarten/ St Martin.


Find Fort William on the map below and other Monuments on St Maarten / St Martin on our Interactive Map!









Back to Monuments Menu of Visit St Maarten / St Martin 


Back to Main Page of Visit St Maarten / St Martin