Cole Bay’s original name was Koolbaai, Dutch for “Cabbage Bay.” The name reflects the area’s agricultural heritage. Until well into the 20th century, meadows and farmland dominated the landscape of the district. At the far western end of Cole Bay, the Concordia or Border Monument was erected in 1948 to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the Treaty of Concordia.
In the 1980s, the Port de Plaisance resort was developed near the border. Other accommodations, including Carl’s Unique Inn, followed in later years. Marinas along the Cole Bay waterfront were also constructed, transforming the area’s agricultural character into a center for tourism, nautical industries, and residential development.
In 2015, the Simpson Bay Lagoon Causeway Bridge was opened, connecting the western end of Cole Bay with Simpson Bay and the Princess Juliana International Airport area. Cole Bay remains an important link between the island’s two capitals, Philipsburg and Marigot, while the bridge has helped improve traffic flow between Marigot and the airport. The area is well connected by frequent buses on the Marigot – Philipsburg line.
Find the Cole Bay area on the map below!
• Jai’s Contemporary Fusion Cuisine
• Catch 21
• Divico
See our overview of St. Maarten taxi rates what pricing is in place from Cole Bay to your place of departure.